cupe_nb_eng_1.jpg
Strike vote logo.png
56811516_2594770140553086_8207667951306801152_n.jpg

As you may have already heard in the news, the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) has sent a 100-day ultimatum to Premier Blaine Higgs to commit to bargaining in good faith with public sector workers. Without a clear commitment from the Progressive Conservative government to address the retention and recruitment crisis in the public sector, CUPE has committed to a strike vote for more than 22,000 workers starting on Labour Day. After a week of centralized bargaining with the government, we were disappointed that Blaine Higgs persisted in offering a ridiculous deal that had already been rejected by our members. Therefore, we have no choice but to launch the strike process with a strike vote to be held between September 7 and 11.

SUPPORT THE STRIKE

LEARN ABOUT THE ISSUE

 

THE FIGHT FOR
NEW BRUNSWICK'S FUTURE

For over a decade, successive provincial governments have imposed wage restraint mandates on public sector workers. Year after year, these workers have been asked to tighten their belts and to do more with less to avoid adding to the debt. This time, the government is asking these workers to accept a wage freeze for one year and meager 1% increases for the next three years. Public sector workers' purchasing power and ability to participate in the economy is shrinking as prices rise faster than their wages.

 

As a result, a serious recruitment and retention crisis threatens the public service.

In all sectors, it is becoming increasingly difficult to recruit and retain workers due to wages and working conditions that are no longer competitive with other provinces. With staffing levels steadily declining and workloads increasing, our public service is held together by the will of those who have the courage to stay.

L2745_chart_EN
L2745_chart_EN

press to zoom
L5026_chart_EN
L5026_chart_EN

press to zoom
L1252_chart_EN
L1252_chart_EN

press to zoom
L2745_chart_EN
L2745_chart_EN

press to zoom
1/11

It is time for the government to recognize the magnitude of the crisis facing the public sector and the vital services it provides to the public. The solution is simple, we must increase wages to restore competitiveness with other provinces.

To do this, we need to stop throwing our money at large corporations that refuse to pay their fair share of taxes to fund the public services that have made their fortunes and invest in our people. It's time to build an economy from the bottom up instead of waiting for the crumbs from the top down.

This government is pushing the public sector to its limits, so we must fight back before it's too late. We are fighting for the future of public services; we are fighting for the future of New Brunswick.

cupe-new-brunswick.jpg
 
The Signal - Third logo Draft - 2.png

To learn more about the situation of public sector workers, you can read our latest edition of The Signal newspaper available at the following link: https://issuu.com/cupenbscfp/docs/the_signal

Enter to win an NB Liquor gift card or a nice basket of New Brunswick products. 

 

To enter the contest, you must count the number of times the word " wage " appears in the newspaper. Then, please send your answer and contact information to the following email address 

 

Fairwages@gmail.com

 

If you are one of the lucky winners, a member of CUPE NB will contact you to give you your prize. 

Concours.png
image_2021-08-24_175912.png

cupe_nb_eng_1.jpg
Vote de grève logo.png
56811516_2594770140553086_8207667951306801152_n.jpg

Comme vous l'avez peut-être déjà entendu aux nouvelles, le Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique (SCFP) a envoyé un ultimatum de 100 jours au premier ministre Blaine Higgs pour qu'il s'engage à négocier de bonne foi avec les travailleurs du secteur public. Sans un engagement clair du gouvernement progressiste-conservateur pour régler la crise de rétention et de recrutement qui sévit dans le service public, le SCFP s’est engagé à déclencher un vote de grève pour plus de 22 000 travailleurs à compter de la fête de Travail. Après une semaine de négociation centralisée avec le gouvernement, nous avons été déçus de voir que Blaine Higgs s’obstine à offrir une offre dérisoire qui avait déjà été refusée par nos membres. C’est pourquoi, nous n’avons d’autre choix que de déclencher le processus de grève avec un vote de grève qui aura lieu entre 7 et le 11 septembre.

APPUYER LA GRÈVE

S'INFORMER SUR L'ENJEU

 

LE COMBAT POUR L'AVENIR DU NOUVEAU-BRUNSWICK

Depuis plus d'une décennie, les gouvernements provinciaux successifs ont imposé des mandats de restrictions salariales sur les travailleurs du secteur public. Année après année, on a exigé de ces travailleurs qu’ils se serrent la ceinture et qu’ils fassent plus avec moins pour ne pas aggraver la dette. Cette fois, le gouvernement demande à ces travailleurs d’accepter un gel de salaire pendant un an et de maigres augmentations de 1% pour les trois années suivantes. Le pouvoir d’achat et la capacité de participer à l'économie des travailleurs  du secteur public fond à vue d’œil alors que les prix augmentent plus rapidement que leur salaire.

Résultat : Une grave crise de recrutement et de rétention menace le service public.

Dans tous les secteurs, il est de plus en plus difficile de recruter et de retenir les travailleurs en raison des salaires et conditions de travail qui n’arrivent plus à compétitionner avec les autres provinces. Avec les effectifs en chute constante et la charge de travail qui augmente, notre service public tient par la volonté de ceux qui ont le courage de rester.

L963_chart_FR
L963_chart_FR

press to zoom
L1190_chart_FR
L1190_chart_FR

press to zoom
L5026_chart_FR
L5026_chart_FR

press to zoom
L963_chart_FR
L963_chart_FR

press to zoom
1/11

La situation ne peut plus continuer ainsi, il est temps que le gouvernement reconnaisse l’ampleur de la crise qui pèse sur le secteur public et sur les services vitaux qu’il donne à la population. La solution est simple, il faut augmenter les salaires pour redevenir compétitif avec les autres provinces.

Pour y arriver, un choix tout aussi simple s’impose, il faut arrêter de lancer notre argent dans de grosses entreprises qui refusent de payer leur juste part d’impôt pour financer les services publics qui ont contribué à leur fortune et investir dans les gens d’ici. Il est temps de bâtir une économie de la base au lieu d’attendre les miettes du haut.

Ce gouvernement pousse le secteur public à ses limites, nous devons donc riposter avant qu'il ne soit trop tard. Nous nous battons pour l'avenir des services publics; nous nous battons pour l'avenir du Nouveau-Brunswick.

cupe-new-brunswick.jpg
 
image_2021-08-14_224955.png

Pour en savoir davantage sur la situation des travailleurs du secteur public, vous pouvez consulter notre dernière édition du journal Le Signal disponible au lien suivant: issuu.com/cupenbscfp/docs/le_signal 

Courez la chance de gagner une carte-cadeau d'Alcool NB ou un joli panier de produits du Nouveau-Brunswick. 

Pour participer au concours, vous devez compter le nombre de fois où le mot «salaire» apparaît dans le journal. Ensuite, veuillez envoyer votre réponse et vos coordonnées à l'adresse électronique suivante : 

Fairwages@gmail.com

Si vous êtes l'un des heureux gagnants, un membre du SCFP NB entrera en contact avec vous pour vous remettre votre prix. 

Concours.png
image_2021-08-17_213514.png